The Indian cricket legend MS Dhoni announces the retirement from the international competition

Dhoni made his debut with India in 2004, where he eventually became captain and led India to its first World Twenty20 title in 2007, as well as the 2011 World Cup and the 2013 Champions Trophy.

In a post on Instagram, the wicketkeeper said: “Thank you for your love and support all along. As of 1929, consider me retired.” The 39-year-old scored 10,773 one-day international (ODI) runs – the 11th highest record in history – in 350 games.

He also played 90 Tests, scored 4,876 test runs, and led India to the top of the world rankings before retiring from Test Cricket in 2014. He also played 98 T20s.

He led India in a record 322 international games and his 110 ODI wins are second only to Australian Ricky Ponting’s 165.

Dhoni also won the Indian Premier League (IPL) three times with the Chennai Super Kings.

Many in the cricket community paid their respects to Dhoni on social media, including current Indian captain Virat Kohli.

“Every cricketer has to end his journey someday, but when someone you know so well announces that decision, you feel the emotion a lot more,” Kohli said on Twitter.

“What you have done for the country will always stay in everyone’s heart, but the mutual respect and warmth I received from you will always stay in mine. The world has seen success, I have seen people skip. I take my hat off to you. “

READ: ‘Why should I bleach the color of my skin to be beautiful?’ The cricket star’s anger over the racist Indian nickname

“I join you”

Shortly after Dhoni announced his resignation, Indian batsman Suresh Raina also retired from international cricket.

Raina, who was part of the 2011 World Cup winning team, scored 5,615 runs averaging 35.31 in 226 ODIs. He played 18 Tests and 78 T20s.

Raina Bat during the first game of the Twenty20 International Match between Australia and India.Visit for more news, features and videos. Jai Hind! “

Raina is also the second highest run scorer in IPL history, just behind Kohli.

Comments are closed.